TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Bhowanipore hold United

Calcutta: Poor execution and a flurry of wrong passes were the highlights of Friday’s CFL Premier Division Championship Round tie between United SC and Bhowanipore Club, which ended in a barren draw, here, at the Salt Lake Stadium.

True, United SC fielded a depleted side, with the in-form Baldeep Singh, too, missing out due to injury.

But having said that, the chinks in Eelco Schattorie’s team were exposed further as with a little bit of fortune, the Jose Ramirez Barreto-led unit could certainly have ended their CFL campaign this season on a good note, Friday’s match being their last.

Barreto, who seems to be in two minds over whether to continue till next season, came perilously close to scoring early after the break. A through pass found him in a one-to-one situation with rival ’keeper Abhijit Das.

But the Brazilian’s intelligent goal-bound placement didn’t reach its target as Deepak Mondal Jr. chased it down and did wonderfully well to effect a goalline save.

Towards the end, the crosspiece denied Daniel Bidemi from scoring.

Staving off challenges from Sheikh Azim and Anupam Sarkar, Daniel managed to unleash a left-footer off Abinash Ruidas’ centre, which beat the rival goalie only to hit the horizontal.

For United SC, the spark in their performance surfaced only after Schattorie brought in Eric Brown and Hasan Al Moustapha midway during the second session. However, it didn’t produce goals.

Eric, in fact, had almost got United SC a goal against the run of play, in the 78 th minute, if not for the outstretched Debjit who deflected the ball past the second post.

Schattorie, though, wasn't too displeased with the show on offer from his wards. "No doubt, execution is one area where we were lagging. That's just because of lack of quality We have to admit it

"But I'm pretty impressed with how Azim fared. It augurs well for us, especially with the Federation Cup being round the corner," the Dutchman said.


United SC: Abhijit Das, Bapi Saha, Anupam Sarkar, Sheikh Azim, Deepak Mondal Jr. (Deepak Mondal, 61), Tapan Maity, Surajit Bose, Lalkamal Bhowmick (Eric Brown, 69), Rajinder Kumar (Hasan Al Moustapha, 88), Mohammed Rafique, Biswajit Biswas

Bhowanipore Club: Debjit Majumder, Sovan Chakraborty, Rajiv Ghosh, Gurpreet Singh, Surabuddin Mallick, Abinash Ruidas, Santosh Oraon (Snehasis Dutta, 83), Manjit Singh, Francis Xavier (Dipendu Duari, 90+2), Jose Ramirez Barreto, Daniel Bidemi

Referee: Uttam Sarkar