TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Ashwin to receive top BCCI award

Calcutta: Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who lost his place to Ravindra Jadeja in the Indian playing XI for the ongoing Durban Test, will be receiving the Polly Umrigar Award from the BCCI for being India’s best international cricketer of the year 2012-13.

The seventh annual BCCI Awards Ceremony will be held January 11, in Mumbai. India’s best performers in senior and junior-level cricket, at the international and domestic levels, in the period from October 1, 2012 to September 30, 2013, will be honoured for their achievements.

Three stalwarts — R.G.(Bapu) Nadkarni, Farokh Engineer and the late Eknath Solkar — will be felicitated for their contribution to Indian cricket. They will receive a memento and a cheque for Rs. 15 lakh each.

Ashwin took 43 wickets, including four five-wicket hauls and one 10-wicket match haul, and scored 263 runs, inclusive of two fifties, in the eight Tests he played during the period.

He also took 24 wickets from 18 ODIs, and three wickets from four T20 Internationals.

Abhishek Nayar will receive the Lala Amarnath Award, for being the best all-rounder in the 2012-13 edition of the Ranji Trophy.

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) will collect the trophy for the Best Overall Performance in the 2012-13 season.

Rohit Sharma will receive the Dilip Sardesai Award, for being India’s best cricketer in the recent Test series against the West Indies.

Jiwanjot Singh Chouhan has been chosen for the Madhavrao Scindia Award for being highest scorer in Ranji Trophy, while Ishwar Pandey will get the award for being highest wicket-taker.