TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Model college list with Delhi

Patna, Dec. 26: The state submitted a list of 24 institutes in educationally backward districts to be developed as “model colleges” under the Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (Rusa) last month.

Sources in the education department said the delay in providing the list was primarily due to the Centre-state funds share ratio that could reject the state’s claim also.

An education department official on condition of anonymity said: “We were upset with the schemes on funds share percentage and also on the proposed expenditure of Rs 8 crore for setting up a college being reduced to Rs 4 crore by the Centre.”

Since 2010, the education department has been putting pressure on the Union government to change the funds share ratio from 65:35 to 75:25.

However, with the Rusa’s introduction, it has been mandated for all states to implement it failing to which state governments would not get funds, leaving no scope the education department to execute it. The Centre:state share for Bihar is till 65:35.

Under the Rusa, the funding will be provided by the central and state governments, respectively, in the ratio of 90:10 for Northeast, and Jammu and Kashmir, 75:25 for other special category states (Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand) and 65:35 for other states and Union Territories.

However, the proposed funds for setting up colleges have come down to Rs 4 crore from earlier Rs 8 crore.

Education department (higher education) director Sitaram Singh said: “A month back, the education department has sent the list of 24 colleges from 24 districts which will be developed as model ones. One educationally backward district Sheohar has been left as there is no constituent college there.”

Some of the colleges selected for development as model ones include CM Science College-Darbhanga, SS College-Motihari, SN College-Aurangabad, Kosi College-Khagaria, RN College-Vaishali and others. These colleges will receive funds through the higher education council.

Singh added: “This month, we have constituted a five-member search committee for council members.”

The five-member committee comprises N.R. Madhava Menon, founder-member of National Law School of India University, Bangalore, CUB vice-chancellor Janak Pandey, Bihar State Board of Religious Trusts chairman Kunal Kishore, BARC director Ratan Kumar Sinha, TISS director S. Parasuraman.