TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Jharkhand overall champions

Deepika Kumari, in Jamshedpur, on Wednesday. (PTI)

Jamshedpur: Jharkhand emerged overall champions in the 34th National Archery Championship (recurve and compound) that concluded at the JRD Tata Sports Complex, here, on Wednesday.

In total, Jharkhand won 17 medals 10 Gold, two silver and five bronze to edge out Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) which claimed 9 medals three Gold and as many silver and bronze.

The hosts’ team of Deepika Kumari and Atanu Das of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) won individual honours in women’s and men’s category to become national champions. The former claimed the senior national title for the sixth time in row.

Krishna Ghatak Das of Bengal has the record of winning the national title eight times on the trot (1975-1982). Deepika’s winning streak started at Pune and continued till Jamshedpur. In between, the 19-year also bagged top honours at Guwahati, Vijayawada, Jamshedpur and Chennai.

Deepika pipped Gujarat’s V. Praneetha 6-4 in the individual women’s Olympic round whereas Atanu, an ex-cadet of Tata Archery Academy, beat Steel Plant Sports Board’s (SPSB’s) MR Tirkey 6-4 in the men’s section. It was 21-year-old Atanu’s first senior national Gold.

Veteran Jhano Hansda showed her class in the individual women’s compound final. The Jamshedpur archer won the top slot with a 137-132 win over Punjab’s Ramandeep Kaur. Rajat Chouhan of Rajasthan excelled in the men’s compound final with a 144-142 win over Kawalpreet Singh of Punjab.

“I was confident from the start. I’d been shooting well in this meet and things fell in place,” Rajat said.

Calcutta-based Atanu said it was close contest but he kept his cool to win the fifth and final set. “Archery is all about mind. I think I kept my cool which helped me win the title,” he added.

Jharkhand held sway over the three-day meet. Besides individual honours in men’s and women’s category, the hosts also claimed Gold in the recurve mixed team event thanks to Deepika and Jayanta Talukdar. The two scored 151 points to outplay Assam pair of Mainav Narzary and Sanjay Boro (139) while Punjab’s Madhu Kumari and Lovejot Singh (137) claimed the bronze.

The home team also bagged the recurve women’s team event Gold with efforts from Deepika, Reena Kumari, Sita Rani Tudu and Asha Rani Horo, who scored 203 points. Punjab settled for silver with 202 points while Bengal (201) picked the bronze.

SSCB won the recurve men’s team Gold with Tarandeep Rai, MR Tirkey, Vishwas and Ganga Kanwar scoring 219 points. Assam (214) finished with silver while Himachal Pradesh stood third with 203 points.