TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Kohli up to 11th spot

Calcutta: South Africa pacer Vernon Philander became the No. 1 ICC Test bowler, in the rankings released on Monday, following his impressive show against India in the ongoing series. The first Test of the series ended in a thrilling draw on Sunday at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

In the rankings for Test batsmen, Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis, both of whom were amongst runs in Johannesburg, moved up to their career-best 11th and 28th positions, respectively.

For Philander, this was the first time that he made it the top of the ladder. He returned with figures of 4/61 and 3/68 in the match, while Dale Steyn managed just one wicket. The contrasting performances resulted in Philander gaining 13 ratings points and Steyn conceding as many. Philander now leads Steyn by 22 ratings points.

“It’s been a great couple of years for our squad, and I have been fortunate enough to contribute to our success on the field. What has been most pleasing for us is the all-round contribution from everyone in the squad that has been the main reason for our success over the last few years,” Philander said.

AB de Villiers and Cheteshwar Pujara have consolidated their respective positions at No. 1 and No. 7 in the batting list. De Villiers now leads the second-ranked Hashim Amla by 25 ratings points, while Pujara earned 37 ratings points to lead Misbah-ul-Haq by 55 ratings points. He has also reduced the gap with the sixth-ranked Kumar Sangakkara to 28 ratings points.

In team rankings, New Zealand’s 2-0 Test series win over the West Indies helped them gain seven ratings points to be on overall 82 ratings points.


Teams: 1. South Africa; 2. India; 3. England; 4. Pakistan; 5. Australia; 6. Sri Lanka; 7. West Indies; 8. New Zealand; 9. Zimbabwe; 10. Bangladesh

Batsmen: 1. AB de Villiers (SA); 2. H. Amla (SA); 3. S. Chanderpaul (WI); 4. R. Taylor (NZ); 5. M. Clarke (Aus); 6. K. Sangakkara (SL); 7. C. Pujara (Ind); 8. Misbah (Pak); 9. G. Smith (SA); 10. Y. Khan (Pak)

Bowlers: 1. V. Philander (SA); 2. D. Steyn (SA); 3. R. Herath (SL); 4. S. Ajmal (Pak); 5. R. Harris (Aus); 6. P. Siddle (Aus); 7. R. Ashwin (Ind); 8. P. Ojha (Ind); 9. S. Broad (Eng); 10. T. Boult (NZ)

All-rounders: 1. R. Ashwin (Ind); 2. Shakib (Ban); 3. J. Kallis (SA); 4. V. Philander (SA); 5. S. Broad (Eng)