TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Kejriwal picks his team

Ghaziabad, Dec 24 (PTI): Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal is understood to have finalised his team of ministers that includes his trusted associate Manish Sisodia and five others to be inducted into his ministry that will be sworn in later this week.

Apart from Sisodia, a former journalist who won from Patparganj constituency, the Cabinet will include Rakhi Birla, the giant killer who defeated public works department Minister Rajkumar Chouhan, Somnath Bharti (who defeated women and child development minister Kiran Walia), Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Jain, said Bharadwaj after a meeting with Kejriwal.

However, party sources said there could be changes before the team is finalised.

Kejriwal may be sworn in as Chief Minister at Ramlila Maidan once President Pranab Mukherjee clears the Lt Governor's proposal in this regard.

Throughout the day Kejriwal held discussions at his residence here with party leaders including Sisodia.

Meanwhile, Kejriwal is understood to have chosen senior IAS officer Rajendra Kumar as his principal secretary.

Like Kejriwal, 47-year-old Kumar, at present Higher Education Secretary, is an alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur.

Kumar met Kejriwal at his residence here.

Chief Secretary D M Spolia also met Kejriwal. They were described as courtesy calls.