TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Baldeep scores a brace

Calcutta: Baldeep Singh’s brace gave a temporary relief to United SC as they secured a 2-1 win over Police AC in Wednesday’s CFL Championship Round tie, at the Barasat Stadium.

Besides, it has made Eelco Schattorie smile again after a long some time, presenting him with an ideal gift on his 42nd birthday.

Playing without any of the foreign recruits and fielding their second string side, United SC did put up a decent show as the zeal to register a victory was very much there in the players despite the prevailing situation.

Agreed, a game against minnows simply cannot qualify as any kind of test for a side that is one of the regulars in the country’s premier competitions. However, Baldeep’s form should certainly be a positive for United SC going into Saturday’s I-League tie against Sporting Clube de Goa, in Mapusa.

The seasoned striker took United SC ahead in the 25th minute, slotting home the ball smartly past the rival goalkeeper, off Biswajit Saha’s centre. Towards the end, when the game was locked 1-1 with Police AC trying to assert themselves in the match, thanks to lapses from the United SC defenders, Baldeep again stood up for his side.

Off substitute Lalkamal Bhowmick’s pass, Baldeep calmly lobbed the ball over the advancing ’keeper to seal the game for United SC.

Poor work in the defence from the likes of Sukhen Dey and Anupam Dey continues to be a headache for Schattorie, as it was purely due to their sloppy show that Ndudirim Henry equalised for Police AC in the 63 rd minute. Nonetheless, at the end of the day, the final result is what counts And for United SC, it really counts more.


United SC: Abhijit Das, Bapi Saha (Dhanachandra Singh, 57), Sheikh Azim, Anupam Sarkar (Deepak Mondal Jr., 46), Sukhen Dey, Tapan Maity, Surajit Bose, Mohammed Rafique, Rajinder Kumar, Biswajit Biswas, Baldeep Singh

Police AC: Jhantu Mondal, Debasish Debnath, Samir Basu, Henry Opara, Amal Ghosh, Paresh Sarder, Swapan Mondal (Naren Mullick, 34), Biwajit Mondal, Avijit Sarkar, Nilkanta Paria, Ndudirim Henry

Referee: Sambhu Nath Show

MoM: Baldeep Singh