TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Natraj denies Mumbai a win

Mumbai: Forced to follow on, Odisha fought hard to earn a draw against Mumbai as Natraj Behera scored his second century of the match on the fourth and final day, here.

The visitors, who resumed on 115 for two, 130 runs behind Mumbai’s first innings total of 501, batted sensibly to deny the hosts an outright win in the Ranji Trophy Group A match. At stumps, Odisha were 356 for five with Natraj and Sujit Lenka (0 not out) at the crease.

Natraj, who hit 130 in the first innings, once again showed good application as he rescued his team by scoring an unbeaten 127 off 218 deliveries, laced with 17 fours and three sixes.

Starting the day on 20, Natraj survived a drop catch when he was on 61. Off Pravin Tambe bowling, Wasim Jaffer let go an easy chance.

Natraj then put on a solid 147-run stand with Niranjan Behera for the third wicket before the latter was dismissed in the fifth over after lunch.

Niranjan, who too got a reprieve when he was on 28, made a patient 206-ball 59. His knock comprised nine boundaries, including the one he struck to bring up his half century.

In Hubli, Gurkeerat Singh’s valiant century went in vain as Karnataka humbled Punjab by 10 wickets to get seven points in their Group A match at KSCA Stadium on Tuesday.

Resuming at overnight score of 156 for five, Punjab’s batting collapsed like house of cards after Gurkeerat and Gitansh Khera played a superb knock of 157 and 84, respectively.

The visitors folded their second innings at 361, which left Karnataka to chase a modest target of 31 runs to register an outright victory.

Punjab had scored 174 all out in their first innings and Karnataka replied with a big total of 505 for nine declared.

Summarised Scores

Group A

In Ahmedabad: Haryana 573/6 decl. Gujarat 578/8 (B. Merai 198, V. Rao 111). Match drawn

In Hubli: Punjab 174 & 361 (G.Singh 157). Karnataka 505/9 decl. 33/0. Karnataka won by 10 wickets

In Mumbai: Mumbai 501/9 decl. Odisha 256 & 356/5 (Natraj 127). Match drawn

Group B

In Indore: Madhya Pradesh 619/ 8 decl. & 119/2 (J. Saxena 56 not out). Saurashtra 492. Match drawn

In New Delhi: Tamil Nadu 246 & 28/2. Railways 169. Match drawn

Group C

In Jammu: Assam 263 & 195. J&K 427 & 32/1. J&K won by 9 wickets

In Kannur: Kerala 151 & 432. Maharashtra 314 & 130/3. Match drawn

In Porvorim: Hyderabad 514/6 decl. & 11/0. Goa 465. Match drawn

In Visakhapatnam: Andhra 417 & 232/3 decl.(M. Sriram 101 not out) HP 305 & 154/5. Match drawn