TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Ravikant on top

Guwahati, Dec. 16: Ravikant Tiwari annexed the title of the eighth GTC Chess Grand Prix held at the Gauhati Town Club premises here today.

Tiwari finished unbeaten in the six-round tournament to tally full six points.

Prachurjya Das, too, remained unbeaten, except being held to a draw, to finish second with 5.5 points. Kaustav Lahiri, Debanga Kalita, Uddipta Kakati, Tridev Buragohain, Abhilash Gautam and Abhilekh Mahanta tallied five points per head to be placed third to eighth respectively on the basis of their tie-break scores.

Nitish Das and Debanga Kaushik Bhattacharyya were placed ninth and tenth respectively with 4.5 points each.

Shahil Dey, Bhabishnu Pranti Bordoloi, Mayukh Dutta and Prasurjya Das were declared the best players in the under-7, 9, 11 and 13 categories respectively, while Rishita Sinha was named the best in the girls’ category.

Altogether 43 players participated in the monthly edition of the yearlong tournament.

Senior player L. Imocha attended the closing ceremony as the chief guest. International referee and 6 Dan Black belt taekwondo coach M. Lepcha and former Assam chess champion Trailokya Nanda were the guests of honour.

The ninth edition of the tournament will be held in January next year.