TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Soumen is the best

Calcutta: Bengal were crowned champions in three of the four categories decided so far in the 4th National Lawn Bowl Championships, being held at the RCGC Maidan Pavilion.

Bengal’s women’s fours team of Sushma Burman, Manisha Srivastava, Anchal Malhotra and Bina Shah defeated Jharkhand in the final to clinch gold.

The men’s fours team of Devesh Srivastava, Samit Malhotra, SV Pai and Kamal Sharma, too, won the gold when they got the better of the team from Jharkhand in the summit clash.

The men’s singles trophy was lifted by Bengal’s Soumen Banerjee, after he outclassed defending champion Sunil Bahadur of Jharkhand.

The only non-Bengal player to emerge victorious in a final on the day was Assam’s Tania Choudhury who lifted the women’s singles title.

“This is my first gold in the Nationals… Previously, I had won silver medals in the Nationals. But this is definitely special and I am very happy that I won in the final,” said Tania, who is pursuing B. Tech in Civil Engineering from Assam Engineering College in Guwahati.

Asked about her future plans, Tania said: “I want to continue playing this sport and want to do even better in the future. I have represented India in the various age-group meets and have also won a few medals and want to continue doing so.”