TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Teachers’ outfit polls

Dhanbad, Dec. 14: Vinoba Bhave University Constituent College Teachers’ Association today hosted its election at PK Roy Memorial College in Dhanbad.

Professor Balbir Singh Sidhu of Ramgarh College was elected the president, while Bhrigunath Singh of Jharia College, Dhanbad, became the general secretary.

The five teachers who were elected to the posts of secretaries are H.S. Chowdhry, B.S. Tripathy, Indrajit Kumar, Bhuvneshwar Mahto and Janardan Jha.

Five others — Ravindra Prasad, Kaushal Kumar, J.R. Tirkey, Pramila Chowdhry and S.P. Singh — were chosen vice-presidents.

A.S. Beck was elected the treasurer.

“There was a 96.5 per cent turnout in the election and the contest was very close,” said professor of the host cradle Sudhanshu.

As many as 114 delegates, including 101 teachers of 18 constituent colleges under VBU and 13 ex-officio members, cast their votes.

Yesterday, as many as 29 teachers filed their nominations for five posts — president, vice-president, general secretary, secretary and treasurer.

The election was organised by PK Roy Memorial Teachers’ Association and was monitored by the president of Federation of University Teachers’ Association of Jharkhand.

The last election was held in 2005, although rules say that polls should be held after every three years.