TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Record win for Bengal

Calcutta: Bengal, comprising Devesh Srivastava, Samit Malhotra, S.V. Pai and Kamal Sharma, stunned top seeds Jharkhand 18-10 in the men’s fours in the round robin league match of the 4th National Lawn Bowls Championship, here, at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club (RCGC) Maidan pavilion, on Friday.

It was certainly a special moment for the Srivastava-led side as they had to get through a unit that featured Asia Pacific gold-medallist Dinesh Kumar, along with Krishna Xalxo and Chandan Singh. Besides, the Jharkhand trio never lost in the last three editions of the Nationals.

Bengal now top the league with three wins against Arunachal Pradesh and Bihar.

“We still have three more matches to play. Hopefully, we’ll do better from hereon,” skipper Srivastava, who’s also the working president of the WBBA, said.

On the other hand, the state women’s team created a national record as they registered the biggest-ever margin of victory. The team, featuring Sushma Burman, Manisha Srivastava, Anchal Malhotra and Beena Shah, thrashed Arunachal Pradesh 61-0.