TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Trio set to miss CPM twin meets

Agartala, Dec. 11: Three top CPM leaders will be unable to attend the party politburo meeting 10.30am on Friday as well as the central committee meeting commencing on the same day at 3.30pm.

The three absentees are former Bengal chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and industry minister Nirupam Sen, besides Rajya Sabha MP Sitaram Yechury.

“Bhattacharjee had been medically advised against moving out of Bengal or boarding a plane while Nirupam Sen is ill and unable to move out. Sitaram Yechury is in South Africa as part of the Indian delegation to attend the funeral of Nelson Mandela; he is scheduled to return on December 13 but I do not think he will be able to reach here in time for the meetings.” said Tripura CPM party secretary and central committee member Bijan Dhar. He said the politburo meeting would finalise the agenda for the central committee meeting beginning the same day and decide on other crucial issues.

“The central committee meeting will begin by reading a report entitled ‘Report on political developments’, which will focus on the current political situation at the national and international levels, results of the just-concluded elections to five state Assemblies, Lok Sabha polls and the economic scenario,” he said.

Dhar said according to the CPM’s evaluation, communalism, corruption and anti-people economic policies were major threats to the country.

and the CPM believed in keeping equidistant from both the BJP and Congress.

“What we are trying to do is evolve an electoral alternative to both the Congress and BJP with secular parties. This is not to be confused with third front; we are not working to cobble up unwieldy third front but an electoral alternative. Mamata Banerjee is the votary of the third front or federal front,” said Dhar.

On the emergence of the Aam Admi Party, Dhar said the CPM supported the new party’s stand against corruption but asserted that without a concrete programme, policy and ideology no initiative would succeed. He said the CPM could not retain its seats in the election to Rajasthan Assembly because of “money power” and “caste-based” politics in the state.

On the upcoming politburo and central committee meetings here, Dhar said out of altogether 93 central committee members, 77, including seven from Tripura, have confirmed their participation in the conclave.

He added that the entire arrangement was being made by the state committee of the party with help from divisional committees and local committees spread across the state.