TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

United held by Dempo

- Eelco’s men miss four sitters

Calcutta: At least a little bit of the insecurity and frustration, due to the prevailing circumstances, could have been put to rest temporarily had United SC converted the chances coming their way.

They failed to do so and were held to a barren draw by Dempo, here at the Salt Lake Stadium, on Tuesday. United SC’s winless run in the ongoing Airtel I-League extends to four matches, with the club management losing hope of survival.

Compared to their disastrous show against Mohun Bagan the other day, United SC had put in a much better performance and could have won by a handsome margin. Lalkamal Bhowmick’s presence in the starting XI, coupled with Eric Brown’s efficient work in the attacking third helped them create plenty of openings throughout the game.

But you have only yourself to blame if you fail to convert sitters. And United SC squandered at least four of them.

They could been ahead as early as in the fourth minute when Eric Brown set Dhanachandra Singh up with a ball which the latter only had to tap into an open net. But what Dhanachandra did was something comical He cleared the ball for the safety of Dempo. Coach Eelco Schattorie was left stunned.

Nine minutes into the second session, Eric won the ball from a rival player and centred to substitute C.K. Vineeth who fed Souvik Chakrabarti with a wonderful opportunity. And Souvik, too, shot way over the crosspiece.

The misfiring Ranty Martins could easily have broken the deadlock and returned to scoring ways. But he, too, was off-target, as his left-footer from close range went past the far post.

Towards the end, it was substitute Baldeep Singh’s turn. He volleyed an assist from Ranty straight to Dempo custodian Laxmikant Kattimani.

Dempo, on the other hand, relied on counter-attacks. They got a couple of chances, both of which were thwarted by young United SC ’keeper Abhijit Das. At the end of the day, they are happy to finish with a point, especially having fielded a rather inexperienced side and playing without any foreigner.


United SC: Abhijit Das, Dhanachandra Singh, Bello Rasaq, Hasan Al Moustafa, Deepak Mondal, Tapan Maity (Baldeep Singh 80), Lalkamal Bhowmick (Snehasish Chakraborty, 69), Souvik Chakrabarti, Mohammed Rafique (C.K. Vineeth, 46), Eric Brown, Ranty Martins.

Dempo SC: Laxmikant Kattimani, Narayan Das, Debabrata Roy (Godwin Franco, 58), Selwyn Fernandes, Prabir Das, Clifford Miranda (Gabriel Fernandes, 78), Pronay Halder, Jewel Raja, Peter Carvalho, Alwyn George (Holicharan Narzary, 86), Jeje Lalpekhluaha.

Referee: M.B. Santhosh Kumar

MoM: Eric Brown