TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

43 autos seized on third day

Guwahati, Dec. 5: The transport department today seized 43 autorickshaws for allegedly violating different provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act, including refusal to ply with proper meters.

The drive is mainly aimed at making autorickshaws plying in the city run on proper meters and to make drivers charge fare according to the government-approved rates.

The department today intensified the drive which started three days back.

Under the ongoing drive, eight autorickshaws were seized on Wednesday and 27 yesterday.

All the seized autos were detained at the workshop of the Assam State Transport Corporation (ASTC) at Rupnagar here.

The district transport officer (registration and licensing), Gautam Das, appealed to the passengers who travel in autos to call up two phone numbers 9706070454 and 8402010333 to lodge their complaints against erring drivers.

Apart from Gautam Das, assistant transport commissioner Gunadhar Das, executive magistrate Nibedan Das, district transport officer (enforcement) Dilip Das, secretary of the Regional Transport Authority, Dwijen Das, and other officers of the department took part in the drive.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Conference on illicit drugs
  • Centre seeks Achik settlement details
  • Rock Fireball to hit Guwahati
  • Birju Maharaj
  • Low turnout at Hornbill Festival
  • Motorcycle diary: 2 for the road
  • Cornered NLFT men sneak into Tripura
  • Green drive for resources
  • Kerala continue dream run
  • 43 autos seized on third day
  • Brahmaputra Boys open in style
  • Meghalaya council draws flak for deaths
  • DGP to streamline force
  • Shillong meet pushes for border haats
  • Cong calls Kohima bandh
  • Teachers mull legal recourse
  • Gogoi plea to upgrade education over time
  • SP transfer not enough: Report
  • Nalbari CCC in semis
  • More power to women: CM
  • Sankirtana gets Unesco heritage tag
  • Akhil opposes ban on strikes
  • Shot days ago, Kaziranga rhino dies
  • Conclave on trafficking
  • Khetri Iril drub Chandel 4-0
  • Rebel
  • Dharmendra, Vasavada win