TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

FIA confirms 19 races for 2014

London: The races in New Jersey, Mexico and South Korea were dropped from Formula One’s official 2014 calendar on Wednesday, with the season remaining at 19 races instead of a record 22.

All three Grands Prix had been listed provisionally, with asterisks against them, on a previous calendar published in September by the sport’s governing International Automobile Federation (FIA). None, however, appeared on the final version issued on Wednesday after a meeting of the FIA’s World Motor Sports Council in Paris.

The revised calendar led to a reshuffling of some date and teams will be particularly relieved not to have the logistical headache of a ‘triple header’ of Monaco, New Jersey and Canada to contend with on successive weekends in May and June.

Most teams were reluctant to extend the season beyond 20 races, fearful for the impact of the increased burden on staff like engineers and mechanics as well as higher costs if more people had to be hired.

Sadly, there will be no action at the Buddh International Circuit, in Greater Noida, as Indian Grand Prix has been axed. The race promoters, however, are hoping that the event will be back in 2015.

Russia will be hosting a race for the first time in next year’s Winter Olympic city of Sochi, while Austria is back on the calendar after a decade.

New Jersey’s Grand Prix of the America had been due for a debut this year but that had to be postponed due to financial issues, which continue to plague the race.

Organisers said they were working on “restructured financial arrangements” while the sport’s commercial supremo Bernie Ecclestone said he looked forward to “first-class inaugural Grand Prix of America in 2015. (Agencies)


2014 calendar

  • March 16: Australian GP
  • March 30: Malaysian GP
  • April 6: Bahrain GP
  • April 20: Chinese GP
  • May 11: Spanish GP
  • May 25: Monaco GP
  • June 8: Canadian GP
  • June 22: Austrian GP
  • July 6: British GP
  • July 20: German GP
  • July 27: Hungarian GP
  • Aug. 24: Belgian GP
  • Sept. 7: Italian GP
  • Sept. 21: Singapore GP
  • Oct. 5: Japanese GP
  • Oct.12: Russian GP
  • Nov. 2: US GP
  • Nov. 9: Brazilian GP
  • Nov. 23: Abu Dhabi GP