TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

MSD’s double, Virat ignored

- ICC teams No place for Virat Kohli

Calcutta: Team India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has found a place in both the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year. Surprisingly, Virat Kohli, who has been a consistent run-getter in the 50-over format, doesn’t figure in the ODI team.

While Alastair Cook will lead the Test team, Dhoni remains the captain of the ODI side.

Dhoni made the ODI line-up for the sixth consecutive year. Performances between August 7, 2012 and August 25, 2013 were considered by a panel chaired by former India captain Anil Kumble, also the ICC cricket committee chairman.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said while Kohli was extremely unlucky to have missed out on in the ODI Team of the year, he should be making it next year.

“Kohli is one of the players who should consider himself unlucky not to get selected, especially in the ODI team of the year. In these awards it’s more a case of who gets left out rather than who gets in. There’s tremendous competition for places,” said Richardson at a media conference in Mumbai on Tuesday.

“It will be very surprising if Kohli does not make the team next year,” he added.

During the period under consideration for selection, Kohli had amassed 689 runs, including two centuries, at an average of 40.52.

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara has been included as No.4 in place of Kohli.

Also included in this squad was left-handed India opener Shikhar Dhawan and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, both of whom have played stellar roles in their team. India had a golden run in the ODIs, including winning the ICC Champions Trophy in last June.

Dhoni has also been picked in the ICC Test Team of the year, along with teammates Cheteshwar Pujara and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin as 12th man.

Last year, no India player was included in the Test team while the ODI side had Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli and Dhoni.

Michael Hussey, who retired in January this year, finds a place in the Test side.

Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and James Anderson are the players who find themselves in both the teams besides Dhoni.

Amla was named in the Test side for the fourth straight year, while Cook made an appearance for the third year on the trot.

“The selectors did utilise a vast amount of statistics from the period under observation, but we also took into account other factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation and the like...

“But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out,” Kumble said.

Meanwhile, Dhoni has won this year’s LG People’s Choice Award. He now becomes only the third cricketer to win this coveted prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012.

Other nominees for this year’s LG People’s Choice Award were Michael Clarke, Cook, Kohli, and De Villiers.

“This is one of the awards that has given me tremendous satisfaction, since it comes from the key stakeholders of the game — the fans.

“Recognition from the people who support and encourage us day in and day out, only inspires me to put in that much more, and go the extra mile for them. I would like to thank all those people who have voted in my favour,” Dhoni said in a release.