TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
CIMA Gallary

Patel back at KSCA

Bangalore: The Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar and Brijesh Patel panel made a clean sweep in the elections to the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) on Sunday. They defeated P. Sadananda Maiya’s panel, which was backed by Anil Kumble and Javagal Srinath.

The entire team of 24 put up by Wadiyar and Patel, who defeated AV Jayaprakash to return as the secretary of the KSCA, came up trumps by an overwhelming majority.

Wadiyar had been the KSCA president for three years between 2007 and 2010 before losing to Kumble, while Patel had been the secretary of the association for 12 years, from 1998 to 2010. Patel didn’t contest the elections in 2010.

Patel, who garnered the most votes of all the individual candidates — 977 out of the 1351 — said: “I thank the KSCA members for giving us a very, very good mandate. We can’t expect a better mandate than this, 24 out of 24 is a great mandate they have given us.”