TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Manipur scribes’ day of glory

media sports

Guwahati, Nov. 28: All-Manipur Working Journalists Union took the major honours in the Badaruddin Ahmed Table Tennis Championship of the 5th Northeast Media Sports Festival, organised by Assam Sports Journalists Association, at ABITA indoor stadium here today.

I. Ibobi and Sonia Devi of AMWJU emerged champions in the men and women’s singles events while the AMWJU men also clinched the team event title defeating Doordarshan Kendra, Guwahati 2-0.

In the men’s singles final, Ibobi got the better of Bikash Jyoti Das of G Plus 21-15 in a single setter, while in the women’s singles, Sonia Devi beat Smritirekha Kalita of NE TV 11-8, 11-6 to clinch the title.

In the Arabinda Buragohain Badminton Championship, Bikramjit Singh of AMWJU emerged champion in the men’s category in the final at Kanaklata indoor stadium.

In the team event, AMWJU got the better of Dainik Janambhumi 2-0 in the final.