TT Epaper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

State duo in zonal team

Jamshedpur, Nov. 23: Jharkhand’s Priyanka Sawaiyan and Devyani Prasad, riding on their performance in the recently concluded one-day championship in Guwahati, secured berths in the East Zone squad for a limited over tournament in Assam beginning on November 28.

“The duo have been rewarded for their excellent performance in the U-19 tournament. Both of them are talented cricketers and we are looking forward to another good show from them in the coming zonal event,” said Jharkhand State Cricket Association assistant secretary Aseem Kumar Singh.

While Chaibasa-based medium pacer Priyanka scalped nine wickets in four matches, left-arm spinner Devyani from Jamshedpur claimed 13 wickets in her four outings in the Guwahati event.

Apart from the state duo, the 15-member zonal outfit, led by Ritu Dharub, will also include Anita Lodhi, Ranjani Lodhi, Archana Dutta, Rekharani Bora, Shanti Rai (Assam), A. Rath, Sushree Pradhan, Pragyan Mohanty (Odisha), Seka Ishkiya, Aparna Mandal, Beauty Mandal (Bengal) and Sweety Sinha (Tripura).

Pampa Sarkar (Bengal) and Sapna Choudhury (Assam) have been named reserves.

Priyanka and Devyani took part in a selection trial for the state senior women’s team in Bokaro today.

They returned to Jamshedpur in the evening and will leave for Calcutta tomorrow to report to the Cricket Association of Bengal. The zonal team will leave for Guwahati on Monday.

“Priyanka and Devyani took part in the selection match and returned to Jamshedpur. Now, the selectors will take a call on their performance and decide the state team,” said Singh, also the convenor of the senior women’s selection panel.

Reena Singh, Monika Murmu, Abhisarika Srivatav, Rinni Burman from Jamshedpur and Neelam Yadav from Dhanbad are competing for a berth in the state team.

Besides, Anjana Kumari, Seema Singh, Reena Singh, Shahina Parveen Ashraf, Anita Tigga from Ranchi, and Niharika Prasad, Komal Hora, Shobha Kumari, Kanaklata, Kavita Roy, Rachna Kumari, Pooja Kumari, Anna Dung Dung, Ragini Kumari Bharti, Anuradha Pandit, Kiran Lakra and Neelam Tamsoy from West Singhbhum are also taking part in the two-day selection trial.

Jharkhand will participate in a one-day tournament in Vijayawada from December 7 to 15.

Apart from the hosts Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Odisha, Baroda and Madhya Pradesh will take part in the competition.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • LPG tragedy kills six of family
  • Thrill on the move
  • Seminar takes on social evil
  • Rebel hub mines coal job hope
  • Rehearsals for
  • e-health centre by next month
  • Money matters at lok adalat
  • Cadets on clean-up mission
  • Special classes for weak students
  • State duo in zonal team