TT Epaper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Guwahati clinch title

- Riyan Parag adjudged Best Batsman of tournament

Guwahati, Feb. 22: Guwahati emerged champions in the Amarjit Sarma Trophy inter-district (under-15) cricket tournament, defeating Nagaon by four wickets in the final at North Lakhimpur College Ground in Lakhimpur today.

Electing to bat, the Nagaon boys were bundled out for 76 in 36 overs.

In reply, the Guwahati side lost six wickets to reach 78 runs in 35 overs.

Kastov Hazarika (18) was the only notable scorer for Nagaon.

D. Riyan Parag of Guwahati accounted for four dismissals conceding 21 runs, while teammate Akshay Naraine finished with the haul of three wickets for 12 runs.

Rohan Dutta and Saahil Jain also picked up a wicket each for Guwahati, giving away four and seven runs respectively.

Guwahati batsman Erik Roy remained unbeaten on 32 and was eventually named Man of the Match.

Dinesh Sahani of Nagaon picked up three wickets for 17 runs, while teammate Sudipta Sarma claimed two wickets for 22.

Riyan Parag was named Best Batsman of the tournament while Jitu Moni Kalita of Lakhimpur was adjudged the Best Bowler of the meet.

 More stories in Northeast

  • The same old story...
  • From myth to bhaona festival
  • Haflong stadium to have lights soon
  • Missing teacher joins Ulfa
  • Probe into rural poll firing
  • Rabha-Hasong forum objects to draft
  • Mountain training in Chirang
  • Push to speed up schemes
  • Meet to conserve local seeds
  • Bird spotted
  • Offcial held for swindle
  • KMSS dismisses dam report
  • 'Garo pride was hurt'
  • Exploiting fault lines
  • Little Flower bloom bright
  • Assam sounds border alert
  • Road institute pledges help
  • Kuki club stun North Eastern
  • 'We focus on development'
  • Guwahati clinch title
  • Strike call spoiler for Meghalaya voters
  • Stepping stone to a bigger battle
  • PLA fire at security post
  • A lonely optimist
  • Fuel queues for blockade