TT Epaper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

Northeast Zone sail into final

Guwahati, Feb. 18: Northeast Zone women stormed into the finals of the team event in the All India FCI inter-zonal badminton tournament at SAI indoor stadium today.

In the semi-finals, Northeast defeated North Zone 2-0. Kaberi Phukan eased past Gita 21-10, 21-7 while Kaberi teamed up with Harshita Chaliha to defeat Gita and Monica 21-5, 21-3.

In the finals tomorrow, Northeast will meet West Zone who beat Headquarters, Delhi 2-1.

Angshuman Bora prevailed over Bhaskar Chakravarty 9-21, 21-18, 21-16 while Angshuman and Nikhilesh Sarma, too, got the better of Bahniman Bora and Devender Dhillon 21-14, 21-17 in the doubles event.

The zonal sports promotion committee of FCI Northeast is organising the three-day meet.

T20 team: The Assam Cricket Association has announced a 15-member squad to represent the womenís team in the East Zone T20 cricket tournament under BCCI in Jharkhand from February 23.

The squad: Reema Malhotra (captain), Monikha Das, Lalita Sharma, Nita Kumbang, Suparna Sinha, Debashree Konwar, Rekha Rani Borah, Anita Lodhi, Ritu Dhrub, Sapna Choudhury (wicketkeeper), Doyabati Singha, Papori Gogoi, Mihua Sarkar, Rajni Basnet and Nisha Sarma.

The association has also named five standbys: Urmila Chatterjee, Satabdi Dutta, Sunila Sinha, Parveen Sultana and Uma Chetri (wicketkeeper).

Nilanjana Goswami will accompany the team as manager while Sushanta Chakrabarty and Koustav Bharadwaj will be the coach and physio-cum-trainer respectively.

 More stories in Northeast

  • CPM, Cong sure of win in Tripura
  • Campaign on a high in poll-bound states
  • Cong job scheme for Jorhat youth
  • An unpredictable contest
  • More takers for Dhemaji study centre
  • AIUDF mulls tie-up with AGP
  • Save-Loktak drive in Assam
  • Fingers crossed as battle draws closer
  • Veteran at the hustings
  • Manoj Malo bats Genius to final
  • Shinde assures Nagaland of peace
  • Comrade lives Phizo's dream
  • Northeast Zone sail into final
  • Return of the native
  • ABA selects squad