TT Epaper
The Telegraph
TT Photogallery
 
IN TODAY'S PAPER
WEEKLY FEATURES
CITIES AND REGIONS
ARCHIVES
Since 1st March, 1999
 
THE TELEGRAPH
 
 
CIMA Gallary

ICC admits error

Calcutta: The Board of Control for Cricket India (BCCI) brass must have been smiling as the International Cricket Council (ICC), on Friday, admitted that its Playing Control Team (PCT) in the ongoing South Africa-Pakistan Newlands Test, made an error while applying the DRS.

A bat-pad catch appeal against Jacques Kallis was referred to the third umpire, Billy Bowden.

But while replays showed no bat was involved, Kallis was instead given out lbw, after inputs from Bowden.

The PCT issued the following statement on the dismissal of Kallis:

“The PCT made an honest error in this extremely rare situation.

“The umpires followed usual umpiring principles in giving Kallis out lbw on umpire’s call the review was for the batsman out caught. This is because the normal principle is that an appeal covers all forms of dismissal.

“However, the playing conditions state that when the third umpire observes that the batsman could be out by another mode of dismissal, the decision being reviewed using DRS should be as if the batsman had been originally given not out.

“Therefore, in this instance Kallis, as the point of impact was umpire’s call, should not have been given out lbw.”