TT Epaper
The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
CIMA Gallary

District BJP chief wins after no contest

Jamshedpur, Dec. 28: The incumbent president of the East Singhbhum BJP unit, Rajkumar Srivastava, was today elected uncontested at Banmali Bhavan in Sakchi.

After the nomination process was postponed on Wednesday due to a clash between factions of the party, election in charge Ashok Sarangi slated today for filing of nomination as well as election that was held amidst tight security.

According to sources, the process of nomination filing started at the scheduled 2pm. An hour and a half later, the election was scheduled to begin. But only Srivastava turned up for filing nomination.

As Srivastava was the lone candidate, he was declared elected after the time for nomination was over.

State vice-president of the party Deepak Prakash and state headquarters in-charge Gama Singh were present as observers on this occasion.

The district administration deployed 20 armed policemen to ensure the elections went off peacefully.

Meanwhile, party spokesperson Anil Modi said Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha district president Satish Singh had been served with a showcause for unruly behaviour on Wednesday.

 More stories in Jharkhand

  • Auto-cracy at station, again
  • Coolest rest pad for TTEs
  • Arrests, transport pause mark bandh
  • Jusco takes the sting out of Kamani Centre menace
  • Probe demand for four-lane cracks
  • Learn to click and strum at Sonari
  • College to host students' film fest
  • Bokaro triggers rape alarm
  • Class of '68 bonds by the beach
  • District BJP chief wins after no contest
  • Identity tag for auto drivers
  • HEC 'old boy' dies in Czech mishap
  • Blanket, bonfire aid for the poor
  • Patna flight runs into haze, lands at Birsa airport
  • Quick getaways
  • Red zone on path to progress
  • Culture treat on stage in January
  • Sanitation boost for two schools
  • CM differs on water policy, seeks review of pacts