TT Epaper
The Telegraph
  This website is ACAP-enabled
Since 1st March, 1999
Calcutta Weather
Min : 27.10°C (+1)
Max : 34.20°C (+1)
Rainfall : 0.40 mm
Relative Humidity:
Max : 95.00% Min : 66.00%
Sunrise : 5:26 AM
Sunset : 5:35 PM
Rain or thundershower may occur in some areas.
CIMA Gallary

Trinamool Ministers resign from Manmohan Govt

New Delhi, Sep 21 (PTI): Six Trinamool Congress Ministers on Friday submitted their resignations to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who expressed sadness over the ally's decision in protest against allowing foreign direct investment in retail.

The Ministers -- Mukul Roy, Sudip Bandhyopadhay, Sultan Ahmed, Sougata Roy, Sisir Adhikary and C M Jatua -- went to the Prime Minister's 7, Race Course Road residence to submit their resignations.

While receiving the resignation letters, the Prime Minister said he was “sad” that they were quitting, Sudip Bandhyopadhay told reporters later.        

Mukul Roy was the only Cabinet Minister among the six, holding Railways portfolio since March.        

Sudip Bandhyopadhyay was Minister of State for Health, Sultan Ahmed was MoS for Tourism, Sougata Roy was MoS Urban Development, Sisir Adhikary was MoS Rural Development and C M Jatua MoS Information and Broadcasting.        

Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday had announced her decision to withdraw support to the UPA protesting the Centre's decisions to increase diesel prices, limit the subsidy on cooking gas for domestic uses and allow FDI in multi-brand retail.

 More stories in Front Page

  • Sita sups with Ram's party
  • Birsa Vihar on minister radar
  • Sisters, let us build an idli bridge
  • Cyber teeth for Assam cops
  • Chidambaram abolishes duties on non-subsidised LPG cylinders
  • PM to address the nation tonight on FDI
  • Bihar holds on to land maps
  • Trinamool Ministers resign from Manmohan Govt
  • Bengal makes Delhi lick lips