The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Greg: There is a lesson
- Inzy given out obstructing the field

Peshawar: Chris Broad had no role in Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq’s dismissal, out obstructing the field, but he was still accosted by a local when he headed for the business centre at the Pearl Continental.

“How was Inzy given out'” the gentleman asked in a none too friendly tone. The Match Referee’s answer was very matter of fact: “Because, according to the laws, he was out. Period.” The local seemed as confused as the captain.

In fact, Inzamam and coach Bob Woolmer had a “friendly exchange of views,” as a source put it, with Broad after the first ODI ended in a Duckworth/Lewis Method win for Pakistan. Inzamam, it appears, wanted “clarifications.”

One assumes Inzamam is now clear about Law 37.1. Rameez Raja and Mohinder Amarnath, by the way, are the others to be dismissed similarly.

Incidentally, asked by a Pakistani journalist whether the Indians had been right in appealing for substitute Suresh Raina’s throw, given the underlying “spirit” of the tour, captain Rahul Dravid replied: “We were trying to get a run-out... Fielders appeal for a lot of things, but it’s up to the umpire to decide... The appeal was within the law.”

Woolmer had this to say: “In the letter of law, Inzamam seemed to be out... Let’s leave it at that...” It wasn’t a particularly enthusiastic answer.

Meanwhile, speaking to The Telegraph, Indian coach Greg Chappell said: “There’s definitely a lesson from that dismissal ' just don’t obstruct...” Clearly, this ' five-match series is going to be bitterly fought.


Law 37.1 (Out obstructing the field): Either batsman is out obstructing the field if he wilfully obstructs or distracts the opposing side by word or action. It shall be regarded an obstruction if either batsman wilfully, and without the consent of the fielding side, strikes the ball with his bat or person, other than a hand not holding the bat, after the ball has touched a fielder.

Law 37.2 (Accidental obstruction): It is for either umpire to decide whether any obstruction or distraction is wilful or not. He shall consult the other umpire is he has any doubt.

Email This Page