The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Matrix magic: 60 nations, first day, first show

The Matrix Revolutions, the grand finale in the techno-drama trilogy, is creating quite a revolution in cinema history. The film, which had its world premiere in Los Angeles on Monday night, is all set for a worldwide release on November 5. And this time, Warner Bros. will unveil the Matrix magic in 60 countries, on the same day, at the same time.

In India, the first day, first show will be in 150 cinemas, in four languages, including Hindi, Tamil and Telugu, besides English. The destinations in Calcutta for the “first-ever global simultaneous release in every major city”, are Inox and New Empire. So, at 7.30 pm Indian Standard Time next Wednesday — 6 am in LA, 9 am in New York, 2 pm in London, 5 pm in Moscow and 11 pm in Tokyo — The Matrix Revolutions will be calling on Calcuttans with a crush on the Keanu Reeves-starrer.

“This is the first time in history that India is part of a simultaneous worldwide release,” says Blaise Fernandes, managing director, Warner Bros. India. “Another milestone for us is that the film will be released in India in four languages, more than in any other country that is part of this concurrent release. The response from the exhibitors has been very positive, and everyone’s enthusiastic about the event, particularly since Matrix has become like a cult and has a huge fan following.”

Therefore, adds Fernandes, 6 am in LA or 9 am in NY, on a working weekday, should not be a problem. In Calcutta, which now has the forum and the flexibility to participate in such a global gimmick, the hopes are high. “Calcutta has been a part of simultaneous, same-day releases before, but this is the first same-time show,” observes Arijit Dutta, president, Eastern India Motion Pictures Association.

“This is a healthy sign, in that the Indian audience is being accepted as a viable market. If a film comes a few weeks or months later, the prints can be reused. But in the case of simultaneous releases, new prints have to be made for each venue. This wouldn’t be done if there was no return on the investment,” he adds.

The action-packed sci-fi story, with perfectly choreographed, smooth moves by the stars, began in 1999 with The Matrix, followed by The Matrix Reloaded, released earlier this year. In The Matrix Revolutions, starring Keanu Reeves, Laurence Fishburne, Carrie-Anne Moss, Hugo Weaving and Jada Pinkett Smith, directed by the Wachowski brothers, Andy and Larry, and produced by Joel Silver, the fight for survival between man and machine is headed for an explosive showdown.

In The Matrix Revolutions, Neo (Reeves), Morpheus (Fishburne) and Trinity (Moss), with the help of Niobe (Pinkett Smith), continue their struggle to save mankind from the destructive Sentinals, the machine army invading Zion, as well as the rogue programme Smith (Weaving).

The black coats, dark glasses, cat suits and adrenaline-pumping fight scenes are back with a bang, along with the heroics of the humans, the spy, the oracle’s prophecies and familiar hovercraft fleet.

with the city’s first multiplex gearing up for the moment. Sumanta Ray, marketing manager, Inox, says: “'

So, will Neo survive the ultimate power in Machine City world, the Deus Ex Machina' And what will be the outcome of the confrontation between Neo and Smith' Watch it to find out.

Email This Page